top of page

Spring has sprung and so have the trees and my allergies!

The equinox has come and gone. The gorgeous trees of early spring are in peak bloom. Riding my bike through Portland I enjoy the warmer temperatures. I smile as the cherry tree blossoms look like snow falling and the magnolias are out in all their glory. The unfortunate part of early spring for me is allergies. The pollen of trees is the worst for me. I woke up this morning with sleep in my eyes, itchy throat and a plugged-up nose. Ugh ... its here again. As the season progresses I will soon be suffering from asthma and coughing.

I felt a moment of helplessness. All I want to do today is ride my bike and hit the gym but I'm worried about my lungs. After my morning cup of bulletproof coffee, the back of my throat and ears are itching so much I'm squeaking out a terrible sound to scratch it. I quickly remember that I know how to treat it.

Goji Berry and Chrysanthemum tea - Its a great for treating mild allergy symptoms. In Chinese medical terms, it Clears Lung and Liver Heat and boosts the Kidneys. This tea reduces red eyes and itching.

Recipe: Chrysanthemum (Ju Hua) 6g, Goji berries (Gou Ji Zi) 6g put in a teapot and pour over 1.5 cups of boiling water. Steep for 10 min. You can resteep the same batch for a weaker dose.

Immediately after drinking this tea my itchy throat and ears subsided and my energy had boosted. I got on my bike and happily biked to the gym, excited for a beautiful spring day. I hope this easy and delicious spring tip will help you as much as it does me!


Genevieve's

Supplement Tips

#1 

Fish Oils or EFAs 2 tble spoons 2xs a day

 

#2

Magnesium, Dr's Best, 500MG at night

 

#3

Ren Shen and Dang Gui

bottom of page